tips on didactic year

Hi all ! Melissa Gutierrez MPAS , PA-C  here with some other tips for didactic year

Happy Monday ! Another start to a wonderful week. Today I will talk about the hardest part of the 1st year of PA school.

There is several difficult challenges for the 1st year here I will list what I had a hard time with. 

#1 - WORK LOAD . PA school WILL BE THE HARDEST THING YOU EVER HAVE TO DO , I can assure you that. The work load is intense , you are expected to learn so much material in so little time. One of the hardest parts of PA school will be preparing for these exams ; quick tip : a lot of the material will be self taught, there's only so much material they can cover in class , so it will be expected for you to go home and go over a lot of stuff on your own. 

In the beginning I wanted to read every chapter, cover everything in one class before moving on to the next -- realistically there's no way you will ever be able to do all of that. 

It took me almost a full semester to realize this and change my study habits.  It's about studying smart, reading the material you believe will be beneficial to strengthening your information. 

for example , my pathophysiology professor provided power points notes directly from the book -- what I did was read the sections that were covered in his power point only-- made notes as we were in lecture with anything he added that wasn't in notes and then added important notes from book that helped me understand material more. Everything I did was always color coded, power point material was black, red was what professor added in class, and pink was book material. This kept all my notes in one document vs having power point notes, lecture notes, and self notes .

I learned that in order to make my studying time easier I needed to integrate material vs trying to study each class individually.