Change to Pre-PA after completed undergrad

Hello everyone,

I'm curious to hear from others about their stories of switching to pre-pa after graduating in a different field. I graduated in 2016 with a 3.5 gpa as an English/Marketing major and have been working admin in a nutrition company ever since. At my job I got exposed to many different health care professionals and became interested in pursuing a PA career. I've been taking classes at a local community college this past year while still working a full time job. I plan on getting my cna license in the fall to start working on my HCE. 

I guess I'm curious as to what my chances are.

- Will it look bad on my transcript that I only took one or two classes a quarter at the community college? I had to balance working enough hours for rent and such with taking classes but so far I've gotten all As. 

- Will my former English/Marketing major hurt my chances?

I would appreciate any advice anyone has to give. Thanks!

Coming from an English/marketing major will definitely not hurt your chances for PA school. If anything, I think it will show admissions committees that you really want to be a PA because you are coming from unfamiliar waters. Don't fret, I know many people that have come from non-science backgrounds that successfully made it through PA school. You should have a great time explaining why you decided to pursue the PA path in your personal statement and I suggest that you emphasize what drove you toward PA.  Is it because you witnessed what great work PAs do on the daily? Is it because PAs play a pivotal role in the healthcare model? What about PAs influenced you so heavily that pulled you from an English/marketing background?

Working full-time is no joke let alone taking classes and working full-time. As long as your scoring A's, I don't think taking 1-2 classes at a time will hurt your chances. Persevere. Set a goal, make a plan and stick to that plan. Best of luck!