Hello!

I'm planning on taking a 3 month EMT course this summer. I am already looking into different jobs that EMTs are capable of applying for just in case there are no EMT job opportunities near me when I am finished with the program. I had no idea how many different healthcare jobs people with an EMT certification could do. My question is this: which healthcare profession would look better on my PA application? 1. EMT 2. Patient Care Tech (there are awesome PCT jobs in different hospitals in oncology, etc. that I personally seem more interested in), 3. ER tech 4. Medical Assistant (Some clinics allow some EMT certification to work as a MA)

I have read that a job in the hospital can be better because of the interactions with MDs, DOs, PAs, etc but I also know that some schools hold an EMT to a higher standard sometimes. 

Thanks in advance! :) 

I've been an EMT for 2 years. My advice to you would be to try your hardest to get a PCT/ER tech (they're the same thing) position. Your back will thank you and you'll probably learn a lot more working in a hospital than in a pre-hospital setting. You'll get to interact with higher level health care providers and learn from them, while you're pretty much on your own in EMS. I think CASPA has MA as HCE, so I wouldn't recommend it if you already have your EMT-B, although hospital positions do tend to pay more than private EMS. I've worked at several ambulance companies and the pay was barely above minimum wage for all of them.   

Agree with above. Working in a hospital setting is much more beneficial especially as an EMT. You will be able to do more and have more frequent interactions with MD’s and PAs. I personally work 911/critical care ground ambulance for three years while also working full time as an ED tech. Currently I am in more of an MA role at an urgent care. All have been good experience and I feel they have prepared me really well for PA school.