Any former social workers make the switch to PA school?

Hi Everyone- first time posting but have been reading through the forums for a little while. I currently work as a director at a non-profit and have a master's degree in social work. I started out in undergrad on the PA track but have now taken a looong detour. I started taking classes this semester in hopes of applying next year. I called a fairly high ranking school in my area and they said my experience with clients would count towards HCE but recommended some volunteer or additional work in a health care setting (which I hope to start this summer). Has anyone else made the switch? Do you find your social work background to be an asset or are schools focused on more traditional HCE? If you work as a PA, did your background help in your work with patients?

Thanks!

I have not applied to PA school, but am thinking about it. I am a social worker, BA in Psych, as well. I work with elders, people with dementia, and those at end of life. I’ve done this for about 10 years (I’m 32) and am really wanting to switch fields. I am currently a Field Manager with a home care agency- I go into client’s homes and assess them, and train caregivers. I was also a family caregiver, a care consultant, and a Geriatric Care Manager. All at different points in my life. 

I am curious if my experience would count as HCE. I will also need to go back for the science pre-reqs. While I don’t have a huge science background, I personally think social services give really great experience that would translate well to PA. We look at the psycho-social wellbeing of our clients, and already have phenomenal (most of us) bedside manner. I’m hoping someone else comments with their experience as well!