NCEMPA

Question about pay: switching from full time to PRN

For those working in EM that have moved from a full-time hourly rate to a PRN hourly rate at the same facility and same position, what is a reasonable increase in pay to ask for? I've been there for about 5 years full time (also haven't had a raise in 3 years). I know what other EM PRN gigs pay in my area, but my question is specifically how much more to expect when transitioning in the same position. Thanks in advance!

I'm just a new grad so take it for what it's worth but I was offered a full time job at a place but ended up signing up for PRN. The PRN pay was $10 more an hour. 

My PRN gigs pay approximately 50% more than my base salary at my full time job. One has incentive pay based on how busy it is on a given day and can be as much as double my base pay rate at my full time job. 

Wow. I have a feeling I'll be lucky to even get 10% (and it's a pretty good benefits package that I'm leaving). Thanks for the feedback. I'll push for a bit more after hearing this.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Similar Content

• By SEMPA
      SEMPA is excited to roll out its new Mentoring Program specifically created for PAs new to emergency medicine; PA students interested in launching their career; or any seasoned emergency medicine PAs looking to advance and expand their profession and practice.