amlord1

Do I Have a Chance? What Should I Do?

Hello,

I am an honors student at Arizona State University majoring in biological sciences. I currently have a 3.52 GPA. I know this isn't great and some of my friends have said that I probably don't have a chance of getting into PA school. I am considering adding a second major in Neuroscience. I would graduate a semester later but I was hoping the second degree/extra education would make me a stronger candidate. Would it? Or should I just graduate in Spring 2018 as planned? I am already planning on taking a gap year after graduation to get medical experience but its just a matter of whether I graduate in Spring 2018 or Fall 2018. Also, please be honest with me. Do I have a chance of getting in? I did a medical internship in Nicaragua summer of 2017 which was great experience. I also recently started working in a psychology research lab. I know I need a lot more experience but some people say that if you don't have a 3.7 GPA or above then you don't have a chance at all or have really low chances.

Seems like your friends don't know what they are talking about.  I got into PA school with a 3.27 cGPA and a 3.15 sGPA.  You can get the second major if you want, but not necessary.  

Edited by Ket131
wrong number! should be 3.27 not 3.37.
  • Upvote 3

A 3.5+ is not bad (especially if your science GPA is at or above that level as well), and if the rest of your application is well rounded, you will probably have a good chance. Don't listen to your friends. Yes, PA school is competitive, and yes, a higher GPA makes you more competitive, but many schools have an average GPA for matriculating students in the 3.5 - 3.6 range, which means they are accepting people both above and below those averages (as noted by Ket131).