Sign in to follow this  
kitkatbars

Low undergrad GPA still haunting me 5 years later

Hello All,

I am relatively new to the pre-PA profession but after a lot of soul searching, I am going to apply again to schools this year. Last year, I only applied to 5 schools. I need help deciding what to do between now and application time. I know there's only a few months left before CASPA opens, but any help is appreciated. Here are some stats about me:

Undergrad GPA 

Overall: 2.5

Science: 2.4 

MPH GPA

Overall: 3.8 

Science classes (2): 4.0 

Post-bacc GPA (1 year): 

Overal: 3.85

Science: 4.0 (got a B in calculus) 

Misc

Took sociology online (A), anatomy and physio for my masters online (A), and taking psychology this semester online (hopefully get an A).

Critique my plan please:

I had no luck last cycle, a 310 composite GPA and a 6/6 on the writing portion, 1000+ PCE, working in biotech now (pays well so not sure if I need to switch jobs for more PCE, would rather work on weekends in PCE if possible), 2000+ HCE 

Plan: 

• Apply earlier this time for sure. Applied in October last time
  • My undergrad gpa had so many credits from me not passing classes, hence the MPH (which I love the subject but quickly found it is not a lucrative career to pay back student loans) and post bacc 
    • Retaking psychology online 
    • Hopefully taking micro online for the first time 
    • Maybe taking ochem/biochem online again 
  • Stats for pre reqs: Gen chem (A), bio (A), ochem (C), anatomy/physio (A), sociology (A), psychology (C), stats (A), english (A) 
  • Should I just retake the pre reqs? Should I fill in some science classes? I think I redid how long it will take me to bring up my GPA to above a 3.0 for both and it's another year of full time classes MAYBE to get a 3.0 
  • I have no shadowing, so planning to shadow a PA (I've shadowed an MD and DO) 
  • applying to MA jobs (I was an MA without the certification)