BSN to PA to NP?

Hey this is my first time posting here, and I wanted some advice.

I'm currently in school for a BSN, and I looked at both NPs/PAs but went with NPs due to the level of autonomy they had. And I couldn't see myself playing second fiddle or having to listen to a doctor fresh out of med school when I'm an older PA. However, I'm not too fond of the nursing model, as I appreciate the pathology and physiology of the human body. I would feel if I received a NP degree, I would feel less confident in my diagnosis and treatment. And I don't like being stuck in one specialty like NPs have. I would much rather prefer to have a variance of options that I can choose from to earn experience.

So I wanted to see if I could become a RN, get a good year or so and then go into PA school, work as a PA for some time (3-10 years) and then obtain my NP degree, allowing me to work independently while allowing me to have PA training. This way I have both the nursing and medical model and I'm allowed to work in different fields and work independently from a physician. And I can open up my own clinic with a wealth of experience and become a better provider. 

I feel that PAs should be granted autonomy after a certain number of years, not NPs. Medical school is an absolute no because Orgo-Chem and Physics being the bane of my existence. If that wasn't the case, I would just become a MD. 

:D advice would be great. Thanks!

I would recommend reconsidering MD. Emedpa here avoided MD for the same reasons, and regrets it.

to answer your question, yes, you can. Assuming an NP school would take you, and I suspect you could find one that would. It’s soemthing I’ve seriously considered myself as a prior RN, but now that OTP is moving I think about it less. Cost would be super low since you could easily work while getting the second degree.

1 hour ago, locomotive said:

Hey this is my first time posting here, and I wanted some advice.