Thoughts on Urgent Care vs Family Med

Hello,

I’m currently a second-year PA student and I’m looking for some advice from people who have more experience than me. I graduate in May and this week I was talking to a health system that has openings in both urgent care and family med. Throughout my rotations I have enjoyed my experiences in both and I’m just wondering if anyone here has experience in either and would like to weigh in with their thoughts. I know personal preference plays a big role in this, but I’d love to get some information on the pros and cons of both areas. Thank you!

I've worked in both, and personally feel that, while there is a place for  clinic that deals with urgencies, urgent cares and walk ins contribute to fragmentation of Heath care, as well as feeding into a decrease of self responsibility on the part of the patient.  It turns medicine into a service industry, and while we have always been oriented towards service of our fellow human being, now we are part of a nice industry where ratings mean more than care.