Study methods in PA school

I used the ole fashioned pencil and notebook. I would view PPT during lecture and take notes on my notebook then refer to notes and PPT later on as I studied. I liked to make it so you can view 4 slides at a time on PwrPT to easily look back at things. One slide at a time was too slow.

It took me a long time to finally get the iPad, many of my classmates had it and once I did It changed my life. I also use the notability plus ppt apps with the Apple Pencil. If you’re concerned about price there are other PC products that work just as well and have a great writing tool. I like it because I have all my lectures accessible wherever I go, plus I can record in notability. Quizzlet is also a helpful source. Good luck. 

My biggest takeaway on this from my experience:

We all come to PA school with effective study techniques. Start with those.

On the other hand, you will find that your best technique is not your best technique in all courses. Which ones is something you will discover.

Be willing to try new techniques when you feel the need.

On 1/18/2018 at 7:50 AM, PA-SGuy said:

I used the ole fashioned pencil and notebook. I would view PPT during lecture and take notes on my notebook then refer to notes and PPT later on as I studied. I liked to make it so you can view 4 slides at a time on PwrPT to easily look back at things. One slide at a time was too slow.

I like to actually print them, 4 up, after condensing all the slides.  Yup it's a lot of work, but I end up with like, 8 pages instead of 100.

Then I write clarifying notes on the page.  

S.

I’m not in PA school yet but I can’t imagine going back to the iPad method. It was awful my freshmen year when I tried taking notes in notability. I was too prone to making mistakes which forced me to lag behind during class. Nothing like the good ol’ notebook and pencil or pen! I like seeing things in my own writing too. Plus I love drawing diagrams and figures.