So I have wanted to do something in the health care system for a long time now and I have narrowed it down to nursing or PA. I am currently a senior about to graduate and have all the pre-reqs and experience for both professions (shadowing, patient contact hours, etc.). 

I am trying to find more information about taking time off as a PA to raise kids. When I start a family, my plan is to stay at home for about 10 or so years and raise my kids. I know that to maintain a PA certification, PAs must complete 100 CMEs every two years. But what happens if they decide to take off 10 years? Do they have to go through another PA program? Or are they okay as long as they complete their CME's?

Would really appreciate some advice on this! I am thinking about getting my RN and working until I have kids, and eventually going back and getting my NP or PA certification once my kids get older. 

Thanks in advance! 

Being a PA potentially offers you the chance to have a good work/life balance.  For example, I worked part time on evenings and weekends and then job-shared while my children were growing up.  Neglecting to maintain your certification or stepping away completely from practice are not in your professional best interests.  You can regroup and get the credential back  - but the knowledge that ebbs away from disuse, the changes that occur at lightening speed over time and confidence it takes to effectively take care of patients are not served well by dropping out of practice altogether.  Get your chops early by practicing in primary care and then you will have a solid skill set that can be maintained.  When the children are grown and thriving and gone, you'll have something meaningful left professionally.  

I don't think it's realistic to expect to maintain any license (RN, NP, or PA) without a minimum number of practice hours and CEUs. I know for RN and NP you need to be practicing a certain number of hours to have your license renewed.