Surgical Residency

I’m a current clinical year student who will be done in August. I have a lot of interest in surgery, mainly orthopedics, but really like the OR in general. I was wondering if any surgical residency grads out there could chime in on your residency program, if you think it’s worth considering for a new grad right out of school, and maybe some of the requirements/factors programs take heavily into consideration. I’m considering both surgical residencies and ortho specific residencies. 

I like the idea of a residency because of the obvious learning experience and great opportunities it would provide. However, there aren’t any residencies in the area I go to school (Indianapolis, IN) which is also where I’m from. I say this not because I wouldn’t be willing to move for a year, but because it’s where I see myself working. Therefore, I’m concerned I’d be at a disadvantage not being from the area where the residency is. 

There are some threads that somewhat touch on what I’m asking, but to be honest most are pretty outdated so I figured I’d try to get some fresh perspectives. Thanks in advance for any input/advice!

9 hours ago, kpsmith32 said:

Thanks!

I wouldn’t take any advice from that. Not a single one of them had done a residency.  I’ve never met anyone who has done a residency and regretted it. 

There was a PA here who had done a CT residency and raves about it. He was independently managing critical care surgical patients and all kinds of crazy stuff around the hospital, not to mention what he did in the OR. Matt something...used to be really active but something came up in his life I think and pulled him away.

9 minutes ago, LT_Oneal_PAC said:

I wouldn’t take any advice from that. Not a single one of them had done a residency.  I’ve never met anyone who has done a residency and regretted it.