Just curious of what everyone's thoughts are about the Lynchburg College DMSc program? This seems like a pretty big advancement, a doctoral level degree being offered for PAs by a PA school but I haven't been able to find much discussion about it.  Personally I think it's a pretty fair program that gives the opportunity to enhance clinical knowledge and learn some basics of hospital admin/leadership. 

• Upvote 2

Birddogpa - Did you do it (DMSc from Lynchburg)?  I just applied.  If so, Im sure you are done now.  Curious what you're doing. I graduated from PA school 9 years ago.  I figure I will pursue it because after 10 years... it may give me more options.... whether I exercise my options right away or down the road. 

• Upvote 1

Looking to apply straight out of PA school. Hoping it makes early transisition into academia or leadership smoother. Heard from Dr. Rust that admissions weren’t too competitive.

Also seems like a good idea to get “even” with DNPs (sigh*). Doesn’t seem to be geared towards improving clinical skills though. Edit: you also won’t have to deal with people saying DNPs are “more educated”. Lol

Edited by brandonhughey
  • Like 1
  • Upvote 1

It probably isn't too competitive because this is an idea that is just gaining traction. Now would be a good time to get in. I suspect in time it will be expected of us though that will take several years.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

20 minutes ago, EMEDPA said:

the first entry level doctoral program opens in 2021...

Still forming my opinions on ENTRY level doctorates... Cost seems like an issue... PAs make ok $$$ but many doctoral programs now-a-days are $100k+ tuition. What are your thoughts?

Edited by brandonhughey

It also begs the question.... Med schools are talking about shrinking to 3 years. We go to entry level doctorate. Why not go to med school? Still have that pesky residency....

• Upvote 2

8 minutes ago, sas5814 said: