PA Program with a Family

Hey guys. I have seen similar topics posted around here before, but... I wanted to ask any of you who have children and have gone through PA programs: is it feasible to do well in a PA program when you have kids? I have recently gotten lots of different advice from different people telling me that PA school schedules are "very unforgiving" when it comes to students having to be there for family and such. I'm honestly not sure what this means (didn't have a chance to ask these people). I suppose what I am concerned with would be picking my son up from daycare on time or being able to make accommodations if he is sick, etc. Also, for those of you with families, did your spouse have to stay at home with children--maybe even quit their job so you could go through the PA program?

I apologize if I seem a bit anxious--I am definitely freaking out a little the more I think of these things! I am a nontraditional student who is currently trying to make EMT certification, pre-reqs, working as a vet tech, and being a mom work! It's a little nuts. Any advice at all is welcome. TIA.

• Administrator

Yes, it's possible to do well in PA school with a family, but a supportive spouse will make or break that.  Single parents with good support systems HAVE succeeded in PA school, but it's a really tough thing to have to do.

I never had to take any time off of PA school for my kids' needs.  None of them were in daycare, except for the on-site care at the place my wife worked part time teaching water aerobics.

Also, "nontraditional" PA students are under 25ish.  If you're over 25, you're a traditional PA student.

Thank you so much for your response, Rev Ronin. Very helpful!

My spouse is supportive of my pursuing the PA track, but I just worry a lot when I think of how hard it might get for both of us during a program. It will be worth it in the end, but it's tough to think there might be a possibility of putting so much strain on everyone else.