My fellow PAs I wanted your opinion or experience with contracts. I was offered a position in Outpatient Internal Medicine working for a private physician . I have over two years experience in Urgent Care and Occupational Medicine. The salary is $110,000, no health insurance I would be under my husbands plan, $500 for CME, 3 weeks paid vacation plus holidays, no mention of sick/personal days. The hours are Monday to Friday 8-5 pm this includes 1 hour lunch that is not paid and every third Saturday 8-12. There is 401k plan and malpractice coverage.

What are your thoughts? I am concerned on the schedule since it will be more than 40 hours per week on average that I am expected to be in the office. And there is no mention of personal days plus the CME $$ I also feel is very low. Also there is restricted covenant of 15 miles for 2 years after leaving employment which I think is standard for these positions?

Depending on your state non competes may not even be legal/enforceable.  How are they going to justify your ability to provide for your family?  I could see something about not taking patients if you leave but that’s it.  Be careful with salary, it seems people either do really well, or really bad as a result of salary.  Do they have documentation showing actual hours worked on an average week?  Is the 8-12 in Saturday’s actually out of there at 12 or is your last patient at 12?  How many patients are seen on that Saturday? Is it half the patients or do they just cram as many patients as a normal day into half the time (this has happened to me)?

the CME allowance is pitiful, standard is no less than $1500. 

Make sure all licensing costs are covered by them and it is outside the CME money. 

That salary seems low with the information that they offer nothing, not even a stipend for health insurance, but I don’t know where you are to know if it’s on par with your location.