Sign in to follow this  
rusalochkaa

High GPA/Low HCE

I am currently a stressed out pre-pa sophomore in college. I have just started acquiring hours these past few months and I should have about 50 by the end of the year. I know that's not a lot at all, but I am very busy with school. I am going to be taking 18 credit hours next spring and then more classes next summer. 

I've completed almost half of the pre-reqs for pa school and I have a 4.0 gpa so far. Will my grades make up for my lack of experience?

I know that I have more time to work on getting hce/pce but I can only volunteer for a limited number of hours each week and the volunteer jobs count for hce but not for pce. I know that getting a job is the best way to acquire hours but I just don't have the time. I think I may have 500-700 hours by the time I start applying. Thankfully, the schools near me don't require experience, they say it's recommended. 

Have there been success stories of getting accepted into pa school with less than average hce/pce? 

From what I have seen, you can have a 4.0 GPA and get out competed by someone with a GPA of 3.2 with the appropriate PCE hours for the school.  I say this as someone with a 3.3 cGPA and a 3.1ish sGPA and heard about some students with 3.9 and 4.0 rejected from the school I was accepted to the same year.  You are only a sophomore and have a ton of time.  Also, depending on the school you go to, you can work full time school and full time school work, I did this to improve my grades over the past year and to get the HCE.  Also volunteered at the VA, but that was for fun.  

You could join a scribe company and work very small hours and get some HCE.  But, you would also consider PCE hour types, scribing is considered at some schools, but this is all ranked.  An EMT definitely has "better" HCE than a scribe.  To the main question, I am sure there are some schools that might accept students with minimal HCE hours.  Check this page out...