The current STATE of PA jobs availability 2017...

I had a recruiter call me yesterday to ask if I would be interested in taking a locum job....in Neurosurgery.  I was excited to say yes, except for one small issue.  I have never done Neurosurgery before.  I understand that recruiters cold calling is part of their job, and a crappy part at that, but I always try and hear them out and not be rude.  They tell me all the time how horrible providers can be to them on the phone and generally thank me for just listening.  After informing the nice lady that I had no experience in Neurosurgery, I did ask what other jobs she might have available in my field of Urgent Care/Occmed here in Texas....

Thus started an almost hour long conversation about the current state of job availability for PA's.  She immediately started to describe in great detail the massive contraction of jobs over the last two years in almost every state they place in.  Both temp and perm positions.  She said it has become so bad in states like Florida that for every APP position that pops up, there is an absolute feeding frenzy for it.  Her words.  I asked why she thought that was the case and her answer was crystal clear.  Nurse Practitioners.  More specifically, the massive graduation rate and dumping into the job market of NP's.  She went on to say that 90% of the calls she gets are NP's new or recent grads looking for jobs....any jobs.  She said they will take very low pay, few to no benefits and do virtually anything in medicine.