When Should I Apply? HCE (and GRE) advice

So I am currently a medical technologist generalist. I do pretty much everything in our hospital's main clinical lab: chemistry, rapid serology, blood banking, micro planting, urinalysis, coagulation and hematology. I do not do phlebotomy and I have no direct patient care in my job. I have been working here for 7 months (started 2 days after undergrad graduation), and I plan to stay here until the spring to make it a full year before I look for a job doing direct patient care. I have my EMT cert and some volunteer experience. My question is, considering that soon I'll have 2,000 hours of HCE, how many hours of direct patient care should I accumulate before I apply to PA schools/when should I apply?

Other info:

Studying for the GRE now to take it in December (Tips would be appreciated! Math is my trouble area.)

3.9 GPA 

Shadowed 3 different PAs for a total of roughly 30 hours, continuing to shadow.

definitely for studying for the GRE use Magoosh. It's an online program that tells you everything you need to know as well as tips and tricks, I seriously can't recommend it enough. I tried my best to stick to their one month study schedule (which I didn't do a great job of bc it's really intense) and am very happy with my score. Also if I were you, I would get a job in patient care ASAP and you should be able to apply this coming cycle.  I applied in July with only about 900 hours initially and was fortunate enough to have a few acceptances.  My goal to apply was 1000 hours of PCE, which is the minimum for some schools. I ended up falling just short and there were a couple I couldn't apply to, but I am glad I sent it in when I did. Good luck with the process!

https://magoosh.com/gre/2017/how-to-study-gre-one-month/#_ga=2.157339260.734068338.1512009946-1884994231.1510889243

8 minutes ago, PrePA886 said: