Questions about training hourly rate

Hello my fellow smarty pants,

What have you guys seen/heard/been offered for training hourly rates?

I have a pending offer with a celebrated & renowned plastic surgeon in a major city. This position would train me in cosmetics, plastics, as well as medical dermatology. I'm a new graduate and I know this industry can be difficult to get into right out of school, and I know they would be investing a lot of time teaching me. I know there will be complete shadowing & observation for a period of time in the beginning. 

As I'm waiting for his team to write up my contract, I wanted to know if anyone has any insight as to the dollar amount they've heard of/been offered/received...

Thanks!

I started with a 'training rate'. It was maybe 15% less than the starting pay, was in effect during the 3 month training period. I know the conventional wisdom is never to accept one, but for me I felt this was acceptable as it was a small difference in salary, for a short period (when I was not billing, or filling a slot on the schedule). The job was full benefits during that time, the only difference was salary. 

If I had held out and said, 'full salary only', they might well have passed me over, and given the job to someone else.

Edit: also, at the end of the training period there was a bonus paid, which made up a bit less than half the difference.

I would not take a training salary, to each their own. This comment from charlottew: "If I had held out and said, 'full salary only', they might well have passed me over, and given the job to someone else." If they "passed on you" then that means they don't really care about their employers, just more about money. You will never know as you didn't try, but this is my outlook.