Most practical way to PA school from this point.

I am currently a 20 year old soldier in the u.s Army and I aspire to be a PA one day. To give a brief history of my medical experience, I joined the reserves as a medic right out of high school at 18. I received my EMT-B through the combat medic training and returned home to my reserve unit as a medic. I went through paramedic school directly after I came home and made it all the way to the end, only to fall short of completing the program due to going active duty. I did receive a lot of amazing training and patient contacts through the program, along with working part time as an EMT and drilling with my unit. I am currently in Korea and I intend on starting college to knock out my pre-reqs for PA school and work on towards my associates, then my bachelors. I have 3 years left in my enlistment. I was considering going through respiratory therapy school for my associates after getting out so I can gain more experience and to hold down a stable, healthcare-related job.  I've looked at the ipap program in the army and the chances of acceptance seem abysmal since there is such a long waiting list. I think it would be more practical to pursue PA school civilian side. From my current position, what would be the best route to becoming a PA?

Thanks for your service. 

Given your circumstances, you might consider looking for a school with a dual degree program where you can knock out an undergrad (usually bio) and PA Master's degree in less time. The only thing with dual degree programs is that the workload is very intense. If you have been out of classes for a while, you might want to take some just to get used to the demands again as a "warm-up."

On 11/15/2017 at 8:45 AM, SHU-CH said:

Thanks for your service.