getting into PA school with a low GPA

Hello everyone, I was looking for some advice. I am 32 years old and am thinking about applying to PA school sometime next year. I got my bachelors degree back in 2010 at a state school (Eastern CT State) in communications with a 2.7 gpa. Two years ago I decided I want to be in the health care field, specifically psychiatry. I started taking all the pre - requisites and so far have completed the following:

Biology 1  -  (A-)

Biology 2 -  (B)

Chemistry 1 -  (C)

Statistics -  (B)

Life Span -  (B+)

A & P 2  - (A)

A & P 1 -  (A)

Algebra -  (A)

In the spring I am taking Microbiology and Organic Chem. In the summer I will likely take another class just to try and get my gpa (in the sciences) as high as I can before applying. 

Right around the time I decided to pursue this endeavor I also started working at a psychiatric hospital full time as a technician (The Institute of Living, Hartford Hospital) so I have a good amount of direct patient care experience. I have also been shadowing a PA I work with a few hours a week and have volunteered for about 50 hours at a different hospital in the ED. 

My question is - is it at all possible to realistically get into a program being in this situation? Any recommendations from anyone? I know that the PA path is becoming increasingly competitive and is a scholarly profession...will academic redemption in any way going to count for something here?

Thank you.

One advantage of being older is that you were a different person when you first went to school. Yes, clearly you need to demonstrate you can now hack the work by geating great grades, but what you are doing to build a healthcare career and make contacts who could tell your story in a letter of recommendation. Keep it up!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

• 2 weeks later...

Gabriel,