Low GPA, High HCE

Hey guys.  I'm just starting some post-bacc classes and plan on applying to PA school during the next cycle.  I'm worried my application won't be competitive because of my GPA.  My cumulative GPA is currently 3.01.  I know... I barely meet the minimum requirement for most schools.  My first couple years in my late teens are really dragging that down.  Late in my college career I got things back on track.  I graduated with a BS in respiratory care, and had a 3.47 in RT school.  The problem is, my cumulative GPA spans 5 years of being a full-time student.  Even if I get a 4.0 in all my post-bacc courses, I can only get it around 3.13.  My top choice only looks at cumulative.  They don't consider sGPA or GPA over the last few terms.  My understanding is that CASPA will count ALL of my RT schooling in my science GPA, though.  If someone can confirm this, it would be much appreciated.

What I do have going for me is my HCE.  I have somewhere between 16-18k hours (1.5 years phlebotomy, 9 years RT).  Has anyone been in this situation?  I'm curious how schools balance GPA with HCE.  Due to many of my pre-reqs being too old, I won't qualify for most schools next cycle, but I will for my top choice.  It just so happens that it's in state and I've worked there for the last 7 years.  If I don't get in this cycle, I'll have retaken enough pre-reqs to meet the requirements of about 10 programs I'm looking at.

I haven't taken the GRE yet, but plan to in the coming months.  No shadow hours as of yet, but I've got a couple things lined up.  I've started doing some volunteering with some educational opportunities related to my profession.  I'm hoping I'll have 100 volunteer hours by the time I apply.

Will my application be competitive assuming I do well in my post-bacc classes?  Advice?

Thanks in advance,

nowRRTfuturePA