Too old?

Greetings to all past & present,

Been here a long time and now I see that some of the prePA's are PA-C's which is awesome! Congrats ladies and gentlemen and those unable to be classified.

Since I wouldn't expect anyone to look up my post I'll include a bit of history. I'm a 10 year vet, Navy Corpsman (90-00). On six (6) research pubs back in 2001 when I was a lab tech. Just earned my M.Div. (2011) and I've been a program manager for 10 years with the Navy Research Center. I will be finished with the prereqs at the end of Spring 2013 and applying the same year.

So I will be 41 when I apply for school and 44 when I graduate. Too old? My confusion is that I read 41 for Navy and 42 for Army but not sure if that is age at application, commission, or graduation.

For those so inclined (Contrarian) feel free to tell me not to go the military route. :)

For those wondering why I would look into the military, well I did 10 years and am still working where I was last stationed...so you could say I never left the military, I was just taken off the deployment roster. The biggest reason is my wife and I will be adopting our first child this year and I do not want to take out loans to pay for school. So the HPSP stipend would be awesome, if I were awarded the scholarship. Deployments will suck but then again it is the military.

Anyhow any PA's please feel free to jump on in and give me some feedback or ideas.

As stated you will get a subtraction for every year on active duty. So for example, if he cut-off is age 41 AT TIME OF COMMISSIONING, then assuming you come in prior to your 44th b-day, then you are then considered a 34 yo.

Only thing is that ages are corps specific in comparison to line Officers (Staff Corps). We have all heard of CTS/Ortho/Trauma surgeons coming on active duty at the age of 50+ during times of war (read:need). Some are waaaaay old, lol.