Buying house post graduation

Guest hcruz496

Guest hcruz496

Hello, I am pre-pa, a nontraditional student with a family and in my late 20s.  I thought I would come to ask current PAs for advice.  I am wondering how my student loans will impact me in the long term.  I was accepted into the PA program at NSU, and I currently live in Houston.  

I am a homeowner.  I have about 10 years of equity on my home, 10 years into a 30 year mortgage.  I know that with PA school I will have to take out tens of thousands of dollars in student loans.  After graduating will it be pretty difficult to get another home loan right away?  My program starts in May and I am contemplating whether I should sell or rent my home.  I think I can rent it through a property management company while I am away at school and pretty much break even between the mortgage and their fees.  I have never done this before so I don't know if this is a good idea.  I am just looking to see if there is someone else that has been in my shoes and can give some suggestions.  I am just worried about the difficulty of getting another mortgage with so much student debt to my name.  I don't want to set myself up for added unnecessary stress while going through PA school, yet it would be nice to keep my home, build more equity and not have to worry about being able to get another mortgage once I graduate.  

I purchased my first home about a year after graduation without any problem.  It comes down to your debt to income ratio.  If you can reflect income being more then enough to pay your minimum monthly student loan payment and cover a mortgage, then you should have no problem. 

I also then kept that home and rented it out while I moved over seas for a year.  Same situation using a property management company and I broke even.  I'm glad I kept the house as it made it easy to jump back into my old life once I returned to the states.