Is it normal to still feel like I don't have a clue?

Guest ERCat

I am coming up on two years as a PA in the ER.

Some days I fly through patients feeling comfortable about my decisions. 

Other days, especially when I am dealing with complicated patients, I become uncomfortably aware I have no idea what I am doing and have to lean on my attending heavily, probably annoying them in the process. Even if it's a complex case I have seen before... I still freeze up and forget what to do. I still need my hand held some days. 

This  is made worse by the fact that I work with over 40 different doctors and they all have different ways of handling all situations. I feel like I can never get a grasp on what I am actually supposed to do except in simple cases.

Sigh...

I just hit the 2 year mark out of school and work in the ER, too. You’re totally normal! I get more and more comfortable and confident, but still have cases or whole shifts where I feel like I’m a student again. Two years isn’t that long, if you think about it. It’s good to use your resources and keep learning. Way better than being more confident than you really should be and missing something or doing something harmful. It’s good to know your limits and just keep working towards expanding them.
I’m sure you’re doing great! Keep working hard and learning everything you can. Don’t worry about annoying your attendings, there was a time when they were the ones learning and they probably understand.