Application stats

Hey guys,

I’m a second year PA student graduating in December (PANCE in January). I’ve always planned on doing an EM residency and now is the time I finally get to apply. I picked about 6 residencies to apply to. I was wondering if anyone knows how many applicants the programs are getting now that they are gaining popularity. I did well in PA school (pending last two rotations) and worked as a tech in the ED prior to PA school. A lot of the programs are only accepting 2 residents per cycle and it has me a little concerned.

Thanks for the responses in advance

When I had applied 4 years ago, they told us that around 25-30 people had applied.  Of the 30, only around 15 had the required paperwork and qualifications.  Of those, around 8 were asked to interview, and 2 were chosen.  That said, I think that those 30 people who applied probably applied all over the place so overall placement rate is pretty good, if you are flexible on location.  Also, there are a lot more programs available now that residencies are becoming popular, so I'm sure you'll be fine.  Good luck - keep us posted on how the process goes.  

Thanks for the reply! 

There are more and more popping up every time I search it seems. I have 9 that are on my list. I am very flexible and am willing to move anywhere as long as the program is solid and will provide the training I am looking for. I'll put my list up here just in case anyone has any red flag stories to share. 

- University of New Mexico 

- Albany Medical Center

- NYU

- Cornell

- Johns Hopkins- Bayview 

- Mayo clinic- Minnesota

- UCSF- Fresno 

- Yale

- Albert Einstein 

I'll repost with any updates for the thread. 

Guest HanSolo

Keep in mind the start date of some of these programs. For example, I think Albany starts in October, whereas I am sure some of these start earlier in the year.  With a December graduation date, you probably don't want to wait 10 months.