Physician Assistant New Grad Salary

I'm a recent graduate from a PA school in New York and am currently licensed to practice in NYS. While applying to jobs within New York State, my focus is toward Internal Medicine and/or it's subspecialties, emergency medicine or hospitalist PA. Most jobs that I have interviewed for at major NYC hospitals are paying around 87-93k/year for new grads working 36-38.5 hours/week. Some ER jobs at city hospitals start their pay at 67k/year. This salary range is before night differential and/or overtime. I've also tried negotiating pay, however, they automatically label me under the "new grad" category since my license was obtained in October or say it's a union job so the pay range for anyone from 0-2 years experience is the same. 

I've read numerous online PA forums and AAPA's Job site regarding jobs and expected salaries. The majority response is to not take a job less than 100k/year so that PA professions job pay as a whole doesn't suffer. 

Does anyone have any idea about what the best way would be to approach this kind of situation? Thanks in advance for your input. 

There are far more factors to consider than just salary.  Market saturation (supply and demand) is a big player.  If I'm not mistaken, NY has a lot of PA schools and is generally considered a pretty saturated area.  

The bottom line is you just may not have a lot of bargaining power.  If you are going to try to negotiate you need evidence (AAPA salary report, to start) but there's always the chance they won't play the game and you are stuck with the choice of accepting a subpar salary or walking away.  

When people on this forum say 'don't take an underpaying job' they are essentially saying walk away.  Any employer that is going to try to pay a PA $67k per year certainly won't be negotiating a 50% increase and probably pays that because they know they will find someone willing to take it.