PA salary caps

I work in CT Surgery and at my institution it would appear that you can achieve the capped salary relatively early on in your career. I have 5 years CT Surgery experience and I make $4/hour less than the next 2 PAs ahead of me that have 11-12 years of experience and are capped. The PA with the most experience has 36 years of CT experience (25 with this institution) and has been salary capped for 7 years. His only income adjustments have been an annual "merit bonus" which is anywhere from 1-5% of his base salary as a lump sum, but his base never changes.

Does this seem an it odd to anyone? Shouldn't the scale be more broad with a higher cap? Currently cap is around $141,000. They say they re-evaluate each year but the cap never moves.

where is my incentive to stay and be a career employee if I get capped 7 years into my career with 20+ years ahead of me? That seems like a lot of money to lose in terms of salary potential, loss of compounded interest through no adjustments in contributions to retirement savings. Trying to figure out the best way to approach this with the powers that be...thoughts?

I should also say that this is strictly salary, we don't take call, which is rare in CT Surgery. That being said, in all of our previous jobs our base salaries capped out way higher and we were compensated separately for call.