differences between Physician Assistant and Physician associate?

Hello friends,

I am new to the group. I am a foreign medical graduate and a greencard holder. I studied medicine for 5.5 years. I am going to apply for Anesthesiology residency, which is very competitive. I am thinking to work as an Anesthesiology Assistant or Physician associate in Anesthesiology. My questions are:
1. What are the differences between these two positions in Anesthesiology?

2. Can I take National Commission for Certification of Anesthesiologist Assistants examination (NCCAA) ?

Any suggestions are welcome... Thank you

3 hours ago, EMEDPA said:

to work as a PA or AA in the US you need to attend one of those programs.....no adv credit for foreign medical training.

Absolutely true.  These fields are separate from that of MD/DO, and require separate training.  The term "assistant" is misleading and they may change it to something else.  Good luck!

8 hours ago, Karki said:

I heard that once you are ECFMG certified after passing USMLE Steps, you get to work as a Physician Assistant in some states. Do you guys know anything about that?   
I am really lost. 

This is not true.  In order to work as a PA you must graduate from a PA program and pass the PANCE. 

If you are applying to anesthesiology residency, as a physician, then is becoming an AA or PA your back up plan?  PAs do not work in anesthesiology like an AA or CRNA can.  Suggest a bit more research on your end. 

8 hours ago, Karki said:

I heard that once you are ECFMG certified after passing USMLE Steps, you get to work as a Physician Assistant in some states. Do you guys know anything about that?   
I am really lost. 

Not true.  They are completely different tracks entirely, barely even related. 

Think of getting a license to drive a car.  This does not allow you to fly an airplane.  Or vice versa.

Here's the statement from our national certifying body: