Applying for CA PA license, extremely worried..

Hello guys,

Sorry about the title, it doesn't really make sense.

I'm currently in PA school. I worked as a respiratory therapist for 7 years. During that time, I was reported to the California respiratory care board for something very silly. It was mostly retaliation against me since I was a union representative. Anyways, it was based on incorrect documentation to keep it short. No patients were put at harm. The charting system we used was a drag and drop system, at times if you are not careful mistakes can happen. My documentation showed incorrect times of administrating meds, and other inconsistencies. Although those meds were actually not given since it doesn't concur with with the eMAR.

This happened too many times to other therapists and nurse so eventually our hospital switched to a different charting system. Unfortunately for me, I got disciplined and suspended for it. My boss told me that this was a serious offense and that she can report me to the board but she won't. I learned from my mistakes and took full responsibility. I know this doesn't reflect on my character. I am an exceptional practitioner and a patient advocate.

Today I just came home from an exam, I was in a good mood, just greeted my wife and kids then it all went down hill after reading that letter. This was an incident that happened over a year ago and I no longer work as a respiratory therapist. The board is giving me an option for probation, scheduled hearing or surrendering my license.

I am worried that this will affect by ability to apply to obtain my license in the state of California (or in general). I called the PA board and they said it all depends on the outcome of this investigation and even then they will investigate it themselves. It can lead to a denial for my PA license, probation, or best case scenario is nothing.