Independent contractor - Research

I quit my job as a salaried GYN PA in a private practice as I was going nuts with the monotony of going in an out of a room all day (my year was basically going 5760+ times in and out of my office)- amongst other reasons, I was making 97K/y. I have a total of 4 years experience as a PA. I am unemployed and get health insurance through my partner. I was considering doing part time research or part time home health or both. I have done HIV care and GYN and want to simply try something different that is less monotonous. So, I am considering either research or home health as I like not feeling constricted to one room and one activity all day long, also I don't mind getting other skills outside of clinical.

I was offered 55 dollars/h with only malpractice coverage for a research gig. It is 5h/day.  2-4 patients per hour, depending on cancellations. I can do this for a couple of days and the other days do home health, which is 60dollars/h. 

The research company is a NYC private small office with 1 PI and another part time clinician (NP). I have worked before in a teaching hospital enrolling patients in studies, so visiting this small office makes me feel more cautious re: the contract/job. I also have never worked as an independent contractor and feel a little lost in the process of contract negotiation. 

I will be negotiating this offer next week and would like to know what do people think is a good hourly rate for an independent contractor (knowing the workplace does not contribute towards social security and there are no benefits) working in either research or home health visits in NYC? 

Thanks so much for your time and insights!!!

Anewconvert, thanks! I was told they have other people doing the paperwork as I'm being paid by the hour. I just go see the patients, chart and leave. Who knows if there are any surprises down the road. The studies they have are for 6mo-1year so I know the projects change every so often.