Currently I am getting paid a salary  but if I reach a certain level of production ( I have to see about 280-300 pts a month in my FP clinic to reach that) I get paid 25% of my collections.  This is not in addition to my salary so its not like a bonus or anything.   My question is about production pay.  I am wondering if any PA's out there are on straight production.  This is the model that they are wanting to start.  Again the number that they are going to give us is 25% of collections which seeing about 300 pt/month comes out to like 9300 (pretax, benefits, etc.)  I feel that the percentage should be 30-40% from what I have heard and read about but again I am not sure.  I have been working as a PA for 3 years and don't know a lot about "production pay" only. Is 25% good, ok or just crap? Any insight would help as I am going to be talking to my company in about a week to discuss this.

I was on production at my last position in outpatient Psychiatry. I was getting 58% of collections as a W-2 employee. I paid my own malpractice and there were no benefits (other than the practice paying taxes). I was seeing a mix of new patients and follow-ups. Mostly 99213 and 99214. Some 99203 and 99204. I was seeing 100+ patients per week.

The practice I am currently working at has me on salary for 6 months then per patient. This agreement is really interesting...  I posted the details earlier in another string.

As far as 25%.. It is CRAP... You have to consider several things WRT production. When you take time off = No pay, holiday = No pay, Practice closed due to weather = No pay. Training days/CME = No pay, Sick time = No pay. The other question is how good is the collections department? What % do they collect? Also, there is a lag from the time you see the patient and the time they collect...

Will you be W-2 or 10-99? There is a 7% difference in tax benefit. Just my thoughts....

I hope that helps...