"Just" a PA

Hey everyone, I'm a fourth year medical student- if there are any of you that ever spend time on Student Doctor Network might know me as Mad Jack. I am a respiratory therapist as well, though no longer by trade, but I keep my license active as a matter of pride. But here's something I've noticed over the years. I was guilty of it as well, when I was "just" a respiratory therapist, and even now, when I'll occasionally mutter that I'm "just" a medical student.

You aren't "just" PAs. You're damn good clinicians that many hospitals and practices couldn't function without. You've got strong clinical skills and acumen that allow you to do many of the same things physicians do, and often just as well or better. Yeah, you aren't the physician, but you're also not "just" a PA, you're a physician assistant, a title you worked hard to earn and work harder still to practice. So next time you find yourself about to say it, maybe hold back and say something else. I know it's easy, and fast, and gets across what you like to say. I did it all the time as a respiratory therapist- "oh, I'm just the RT..." And now it's frequently, "oh, I'm just the medical student..." But I feel like it feeds into a subconscious narrative that you're something lesser, either to you or those around you. Every clinician should be proud of what they do, physician assistants as much as any. We all make this health care thing work (when it does, at least) and we all have a part to play.