FInally finished my personal statement

I have finally finished my personal statement, and it comes in just under the CASPA limit. I would appreciate any words of advice that could be given regarding the approach I've taken with my essay.

In my life, there has never been an "ah-ha!" moment, a flash of insight, where I knew what I wanted to be and what I wanted to do. Rather, my life has been a series of
small steps and gradual changes, growth so slow and incremental that it is not noticed until well after the fact. In younger days, I was jealous of the people who knew exactly
what they wanted to be. I didn't know what I wanted to be. I only knew I was scared.
     I graduated from a small high school in Flint, Michigan in 2002; the kind of high school where the students were more concerned with football scores and getting a job at
the local General Motors factory than anything else. I knew I was interested in microbiology, and that was the first major I picked when I went to college. For the first several
years, I rarely went to class, and my grades suffered. I wasn't partying, or drinking, or any of the multitude of other irresponsible behaviors that so many students sabotage
themselves with. I was filled with anxiety so severe that I couldn't leave my room, and too immature to realize it. It defined me.
     In my second and third year, I got a job. I began to force myself to interact with the world around me. I changed my major to linguistics, as I had a love of languages.
I attended class more and my grades improved. I took the first steps towards my own maturity. As I realized that I couldn't make a real living in linguistics, I ended up changing
my major one final time, to speech-language pathology. Graduate school was one of the most challenging and difficult times of my life; not because of the academics, but