Are you uncomfortable when a patient seems to be attracted to you?

I feel for you ladies. I'm still a pre-PA student and I work as a phlebotomist.

Everyday I have male patients asking me about the nurses, if I'm having relations any of them, or just trying to bro out with me and talk about the features on them.

I just kinda start nodding my head whenever it happens.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

5 hours ago, mgriffiths said:

If I feel uncomfortable then they immediately are no longer my patient, they get transferred to one of the other providers in the group.  When it's a little old lady making an benign comment as I'm still pretty young...no big deal.

How often does this occur? It sounds like you've dealt with this before... Did you just say "I'm flattered but I'm going to have to refer you to another PA"?

And did you honestly feel that your safety and your practice was threatened?

So far I have never felt that my safety or practice was threatened, but while doing intimate exams I have had two "interesting" comments from patients that, while probably benign, crossed the imaginary line I set when I started practicing.

When they occurred I actually didn't make any comment to the patient, I just had my receptionist change the patient's PCP in their chart and note that they are a non-schedule with me.

Someone who just simply states that I am cute, good looking, etc., I just smile and state that I agree my wife is a lucky woman - always gets a good laugh from the patient!

I've had patients tell me I'm pretty or too pretty to be a doctor (at which point I tell them I'm actually not a doctor- also,what an offensive comment) but it's almost always drug seeking chronic pain people trying to butter me up because flattery gets you opioids? I can usually just blow by the comment and ignore it completely. If it persists, I'm pretty good at shutting it down in a professional way.