Reactions to "I'm a Physician Assistant"

What are some of the responses or reactions you receive from people when you tell them you are a Physician Assistant?

Have you gotten people who were impressed, confused, envious, judgmental, condescending, appreciative..? Please share your stories!

I'm a PA student, not a real live PA yet, but I was recently talking to a friend from high school that I hadn't seen in a few years, this was essentially our conversation:

Me: Yea I just moved for PA school.

Friend: What's PA school?

M: PA as in Physician Assistant, like shorter med school.

F: Oh yea, like the person who checks you in, takes your blood pressure before the doctor comes in?

M: -____-

I avoid saying the full name unless backed into a corner.  I say "i'm chad, I'm one of the PA's at the clinic"  When asked "what is that"  I usually say "it's similar to an NP as far as scope of practice and what I can do", because I have found most people either immediately know what a PA is in my area and if not they know what an NP is because they have had several that worked in my area for a long time.  

I don't get bugged by people asking what a PA is, I still get bugged when someone says "So when will you be a full fledged doctor then?" and are confused about why I will never be one.  

My biggest pet peeve however is when I call another facility trying to coordinate a transfer (were a rural primary care FQHC at least an hour from the closest hospital and a 1 hour flight to the closest level 1 or 2 trauma center) and the Doctor I talk to says "have you cleared this transfer with your medical director/supervising physician"

Our medical director is in the office for about 6-8 hours 2 days per month...I have gotten ahold of him on a couple emergent patients when i had the patient in my clinic still, but for the most part by the time a get a call back the critical patient is already on a chopper headed out.