DO and MD supervising physicians

Looking for anyone who has encountered this scenario and might be able to help me...

I'm a recent grad and will be starting 2 part time jobs in the fall, one under a DO and one under an MD. Because of this, I'm assuming I need 2 licenses (one from the osteopathic board and one from the medical board). What about my DEA number? I'm in the process of registering, but they only leave room for one license number.  I don't think their customer service people understand the question I'm asking, so I'm hoping someone here knows.

Might want to share what state you are in so you get relevant advice. They all have their own unique rules.

Your state has a separate board for MDs and DOs? That defies belief.  Is there a PA board or are licenses issued by the medical board? 

As for the DEA they used to have a form for adding multiple physicians and locations. It was a separate form that put that information in their registry but only one name and address appeared on the actual certificate. I haven't been in that position for a while so my advice may be outdated.

I am in Pennsylvania as well.  You do indeed need to be licensed with the Board of Medicine if your CP is an MD, and licensed with the Osteopathic Board of medicine if your CP is a DO.  I have only one DEA for the state, however, and this has never been an issue.  I did not hold jobs with different physicians concurrently, as you apparently are doing. 

Hope this helps.  It is a bit of an antiquated system, I agree.

2 hours ago, Avalon said:

I am in Pennsylvania as well.  You do indeed need to be licensed with the Board of Medicine if your CP is an MD, and licensed with the Osteopathic Board of medicine if your CP is a DO.  I have only one DEA for the state, however, and this has never been an issue.  I did not hold jobs with different physicians concurrently, as you apparently are doing. 

Hope this helps.  It is a bit of an antiquated system, I agree.