Switch from Dental to PA

Hi guys,

I want to give you a little background. I graduated college and I was pre-dental track. During my year off I've been working for a healthcare company and discovered I want to pursue a career as PA. However, my GPA is low (2.7) so I applied to a masters in Biomedical Sciences degree in Rutgers and got into the dental scholars track. 

I have great extracurriculars, good GRE score, and working on HCE hours. 

I spoke with the guidance counselor about switching my track, they told me they cannot so late in the game but if I'm doing well by the end of my first semester they would consider it. I've also spoken to some students who say the dental/medical(for me it would be PA) track are very similar aside from few courses and the counseling. 

What should I do in this situation to get into PA school. 

I was pursuing acceptance into dental school for the past four years up until this past November. I decided to switch because the schools I was going to have to choose from were going to be out of state or private and I'd end up owing around or more than $400K after interest over those four years was factored in. Debt wise it wasn't worth it for me. 

Most of the SMPs like Rutgers are all the same regardless of their "focus". You're taking courses similar to what you'd be taking in the first year of dental, medical, pharmacy, vet school to show that you're able to handle the course load and material when you actually get into your targeted program. My advice would be just to finish out what you're currently doing and do well, as you can't really afford any slip ups with your GPA.

Secondly, once you get through there may or may not be some post-bacc courses you need to take in order to hit all the PA prereqs. I know that when I switched over I had to take abnormal psych, medical terminology, and a couple of other classes that PA schools require that I didn't have from undergrad.