Can someone explain the difference between an ER Tech and Patient Care Tech?

I'm in the process of finishing up my EMT certification this summer, and I'm beginning to look online for job openings to accrue PCE hours. I already knew I didn't want to be on an ambulance prior to doing this certification. I just did it so that I would be able to apply for ER Tech and PCT jobs that require the certification. I'd rather be a ER Tech or PCT due to being surrounded by PAs and docs that I can get letters of recommendation and accrue shadowing hours from. My question is, what's the difference between an ER Tech and a Patient Care Tech? Is it just that different hospitals assign them different titles? Thanks in advance!

I work as an ER tech in an understaffed hospital so I often work with float techs who work in several different departments depending on need. Through talking with them it seems like the difference between the position is centered around the goals for care. On the floor as a PCT you develop longer-term relationships with your patients and are aiding nurses in day-to-day care to ensure each patient gets the medication, hygiene, and nutrition they need. In the ER the focus is quickly discovering the problem and finding a quick solution for the emergency (i.e. EKG-->STEMI-->cath lab). As a tech in the ER I am more skilled at placing IVs, splinting broken bones, doing EKGs, etc. compared to a PCT, but I am not as proficient in other care aspects. The environments are also super different in terms of pace and stress level (this is also dependent on the type of floor, for example, a rehabilitation department versus an ICU). Regardless both positions are considered PCE and you should choose what fits you and your interests. 

10 hours ago, panglossian said: