To Alumni or Current Students:

To everyone who is or was a student here at ATSU, what makes you guys enjoy this program and why did you choose this one over another? I am looking into their website and am really drawn to their osteopathic approach-- what drew you guys here? 

I am a current student in the class of 2018. I love a lot of things about our program, but I think one of the main reasons I came to this school over other programs I was accepted to is because of how the didactic year is organized. We work through all our material by system based learning. This way we are integrating every aspect of that one body system at the same time (pharmacology, diagnostics, clinical medicine, history and physical exam, pathology, anatomy/physiology etc). This allows for a greater understanding of the condition as a whole, as well as allowing us to test in a very PANCE like setting. Almost all of our test questions are clinical vignettes where you have to recognize buzz words pointing to the condition and how this correlates to pharmacology or diagnostic testing (for example). I also believe this really helps us to develop clinical minds because we are forced to look at the big picture rather than just focus in on one aspect (anatomy etc). 

We also build our knowledge, once we learn a system our instructors expect us to know it and correlate our knowledge into the next system, this again improves our clinical minds and strengthens our vignette based test taking abilities.