• 2 months later...
  • Replies 107
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 2 weeks later...

Hey all, I'm a current student at the CUNY School Of Medicine (formerly Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education) PA Program. I wanted to reach out just to confirm that you won't hear almost anything from the program until April of 2018. They definitely don't even look at anything before the application period expires. So get comfortable and keep your spirits up!

Good luck everyone

Also for any prospective students that are interested in meeting current students, we have a PA club that meets once per week. PA club is at the City College Campus (160 Convent Ave) and meetings are held in the Harris Hall building (on Amsterdam btwn 138 and 139). Club is on Thursdays from 12:30 - 1:30 and are usually in room 12 on the ground floor. It's a great opportunity to speak to current students, to get a feel for the program, and to get some advice on the whole process. I came to club as a prospective student, and afterwards I knew CCNY was right for me.

-J

• 3 weeks later...
On ‎10‎/‎28‎/‎2017 at 5:36 PM, PA003 said:

Hi  JoJoWondermonkey, For the pre-reqs for the PAQ program, if the name of the class does not exactly match the name of the prereq but it was the same content taught will PA program still accept the class?

Usually the school will accept the course. For example I called another school's program to ask about the same thing. I was taking Psychology instead of their required "General Psychology." They said it was totally fine.

For most schools as long as the classes are the same it will count. Do make sure you check the number of credits required, as that can affect whether the class will count. 

If you have a more specific question, I'd try to find the schools course catalog to make sure the class description of the course that they require matches the description of the course that you're taking (or planning on taking)