Nontraditional BG, improved GPA, what schools to apply to?

Hey Everyone,

Here's a brief look at my stats

• Education overview

- I have a bachelor's degree in music (jazz studies) (GPA was 2.78, and had a few Fs and Ds)

- I did my PA school prerequisites after my undergrad as an independent study, non-degree (GPA 3.86)

- I then got a Master's degree in Biomedical Science (GPA 3.77)

• Here are the stats that show up on my application:

- Overall GPA: 3.21

- BCP GPA: 3.86

- Last 100 credits: 3.83

- GRE:

* Verbal: 155 (68%)

* Quant: 152 (47%)

* Writing: 4.0 (59%)

- HCE: 7,100+ hours as an ICU tech, progressive care/tele CNA, surgical/trauma CNA, internal medicine MA

- Volunteer hours: 72hrs (48 in healthcare)

- LOR's from: PA, MD, PhD (professor), hospital floor manager (RN), ICU charge nurse (RN)

Where do you think I should apply with a nontradional (music) background and improved GPA?

Also, I am currently waitlisted at Pace University for the class of 2019, but still need to get my apps out for another round in-case I don't get in, and will be re-applying to Pace.

Thanks in advance for your help!

• Upvote 1

You should be able to apply broadly, I think. Your good grades in your masters program should win the day.

Write a really good essay; you should have a great story to tell. Don't dwell on the undergrad grades too much in the essay, but tell your story. A reviewer might just want to invite you in to meet you in the flesh.

Good luck!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Thanks for you help!  It makes me feel good getting some positive feedback like that.  I'm just a little frustrated after not getting in last year, when I applied to 7 schools (pending my waitlist), but I do know of some issues with last year's application which might have held me back.  Either way, I'm pushing through and sending out another round of apps.

Thanks for your support!

• Upvote 1

Join the conversation