Retaking courses after graduating from undergrad?

I am currently about to finish my undergraduate degree (B.S. General Biology). I have 16 more units left and then Im done. 

I have a 2.969 cGPA and 3.02 sGPA. I recently decided that I want to become a PA and I am realizing that I will need to retake courses to increase my GPA sadly my 0.03 points if I am lucky. 

I have a lot of research experience, 1 publication pending (second author) and 1 I am currently in the process of writing (1st author). I am 23 years old and have over 5,000 hours of research experience (medical chemistry and regenerative medicine). Sadly, I know that this probably does not account for much when applying to PA school.

I still need to work on my healthcare experience and in the mean time I know that I should probably work on the grades 1st.

So normally when you retake courses in your undergrad, the letter grade is replaced therefore helping your GPA. However I have been told that once you graduate and decide to retake courses, the letter grade is not replaced and instead added onto your GPA. Is this true?

Please help, I really want to get into a PA program and I want to know the truth about my situation. 

CASPA is what will calculate your gpa regardless of what your university does when it comes to retakes.

They will average all retakes. So if you get a D in a 3 credit course and then a B after the retake, they will both show up on CASPA and it will be equivalent to 6 credits of a 2.0 (C average).

Thank you both for your insight! Definitely helpful!

With that being said, does this mean that my prerequisite grades will be averaged too?

Example:

Organic chemistry: D

Retook organic chemistry: B

Therefore my average prerequisite grade for organic chemistry is: C

Thank you again for all your help!

Thank you both for your insight! Definitely helpful!

With that being said, does this mean that my prerequisite grades will be averaged too?

Example:

Organic chemistry: D