low GPA from the 80's? Now 3.7

I have returned to school after 20+ years of employment as an Ultrasound Technologist. I received my training in Radiology from the USAF/Midwestern State University. Prior to that I was a college student with a major of "when is the next party?" My actual major was Petroleum Engineering...epic failure!(lots of science classes w/ C's, D's and one w/ an F) Which is why I entered the Air Force. This was circa 1982.

During the past three semesters, I have earned a GPA of 3.7 in ALL science classes(14-16 credits/semester) HOWEVER, this combined with my low GPA from 30 years ago, gives me an overall of 2.79 (I failed a few classes when I was 18...some I never even went to). My GRE score is 1130.

I have 3 more prereq's to do and would like to be done by the fall of 2012. (O Chem, Micro and Bio 2).

I would like to apply to PA school this year, since various schools allow 2 prereq's to be outstanding. I am concerned that my overall GPA will hinder my chances of even getting my application reviewed.

Could you share any thoughts or experiences?

Your life experience and medical experience will carry you all the way to the finish line...as long as you qualify for the race. Bang out your pre reqs with grades that will get you past the "auto reject" of not making min. qualifications. Once you get your nose over that hump, they'll snatch you up. Think positive! And of course have good letters/statements/be able to carry a conversation during an interview.

Are you considering UW's program?