What were your class averages for exams/grades in science/math classes?

I am slowly trying to accept the fact that PA school may be out of reach for me. I'm a traditional college student (sophomore) and I already have plenty of HCE hours and quite few prerequisites done for PA schools. But my GPA is going down with each semester. I work hard, study, get help when I need and I still can't break those B's in science classes. My major and science GPA is 3.0. It's painful to even write this.

When I read about people who have 3.8 or 4.0 GPA (especially in science), I wonder how they achieved those grades. I know hard work is number one reason, but I work hard too. Now, I'm starting to think that maybe I chose the wrong school. I go to a large, public university (very heavy on research). In each of my science/math classes there are anywhere from 100-400 people. It's not a bad school (one of the better ones in my state), but getting an A seems impossible to earn.

Here are some exam averages in percentages for science classes at my school:

- General Chemistry: 50's

- Organic Chemistry: 30's

- Physics: 20's to 40's

- Calculus: 40's

- General Biology: 60's to 70's

- Advanced Bio classes: 40's to low 70's

Obviously, professors curve them or everyone would fail.

These are not stupid people. You would not believe how competitive some students are. And keep in mind that majority of people who take these classes are either pre-med, pre-pharmacy, pre-dental, and engineering majors. Most of the time exams count for 70-90% of grade and there are usually 2-4 exams per class so if you screw on one of them, you screw up your entire grade.

So, I'm just asking if this is how classes are everywhere. What were your class averages (not yours) for science classes?