Urgent care: do you enjoy it?

I'm considering an urgent care job, was in pediatrics for the last 13 months and ortho before that for 2 years. I did enjoy casting/splinting and such in ortho, and I like being hands on. I just wanted to hear from some urgent care PAs and find out of and why you like what you do. I want my next job to be something I can stay in for awhile. Only thing is it is kind of a big company with 25+ locations and I don't want to feel like I work in a factory but there seems to be a lot of support for PAs there and I think I would like the variety. So why do you like it? Cons?

I dig it. It may not be as mentally taxing as other positions, but I have treatments that can be effective for patient's ailments. Also, I'm hands on and really enjoy the ortho stuff and laceration repairs. I've previously worked other fields (Neuro and Spine Surgery), but I've been really happy with my work in the UC setting.

Pros:

• Hours. I do 36 hours a week broken up into 3 shifts
  • No call
  • Shifts generally go by pretty quickly
  • I work for a hospital so I'm treated well (respect, autonomy, benefits).
  • I see a wide variety of cases. Just recently went to AAPA conference and I was impressed with how much general medicine and board friendly info I've retained simply from seeing it day to day or reading up on things in my free time

Cons:

• Occasional drug seeker (I rely heavily on prescription monitoring programs and rarely use opiate narcotics even if their PMP comes back completely clear)
  • No continuity with the cases unless they're seen within my hospital system
  • Have to work occasional weekends and holidays (although at time and a half so this can also be placed in teh pros column)
  • Some days I'm on autopilot and have to force myself to dig deep so I don't miss the potential serious case (GERD showing as MI, stroke rather than migraine, retained foreign body, etc)

Beattie228 hit on most of the points I would have but I'll add a few.

Pros: