revised personal statement

As a child, I did not have the normal aspirations about wanting to be something extraordinary such as an astronaut or princess. Instead, I focused on one thing; not wanting to be in the medical field. Both of my parents were nurses and I felt that same path was expected of me. All I knew was that I wanted to defy those expectations.

I decided to go to college in Montana on a soccer scholarship. I majored in biology to leave my options open for the future. My freshman year I joined the ROTC program at my school. This was the first time that I felt inspired to do something larger than myself. To know that I had the power to make a difference on a bigger scale was one of the most comforting feelings.  This is where I first started to consider the idea of becoming a physician assistant (PA) because of the history of the profession and the Army. I was able to take away some great things from the experience but needed to focus on my schooling and soccer for the time being.