Hey fellow PAs,

So, I graduated in December. 2015, was certified in December, 2016 and licensed in January, 2017.

I will start my first job in June. Is there any CMEs or other things I need to log in my first year of being a PA-C? I would like to know must dos to keep my license active throughout my career.

Thanks for any insight and suggestions.

• Upvote 1

yup, as above. 100 hrs every 2 years, 50 of which must be cat 1. retest every 10 years, although sounds like that may change to a cme only system before your first recert is due per the nccpa letter today.

make sure you keep your state license(s) and DEA utd.

As EMED already noted, you need to check your STATE licensing requirements.  i.e., my home state MOL requires CME ANNUALLY, not bi-annually (a la NCCPA) ... it may or may not be required your 1st / partial year of licensing, but don't assume.  

I remember feeling similarly confused when first starting out.  I really don't think our school told us anything about what to expect after graduating, so we all ended up just stumbling along the process and helping each other out as we went.  I'll outlined the steps and what I learned below.  

Critically important point throughout every step of the way: be incredibly organized from the beginning.  Get a scanning app that can immediately store things to the cloud.  It will make your life that much easier come credentialing time if you are very organized from the beginning.  More on this later...

New PA-C To Do List:

1) Pass PANCE... congrats!  Follow the steps they give you for after passing... it involves registering on NCCPA website, getting your certificate, etc.  Scan all to cloud.