Emergency Med Salary question

I am a student about to start a program in the Northeast. I am currently an EMT and at this stage, which is too early to tell, I have mostly envisioned myself working in emergency med after school. 

I am having a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that a new grad (1-2 years exp) can make upwards of 140k+ by simply working one 8 hour overtime shift each week. (assuming 55/hr at 1920 hours would be 105k, time and a half at 82.5 with 8 hours per week is about 33k/year).

I know a lot of people will talk about burnout and I am sure it happens more often than not but I am accustomed to working about 70 hours per week over the last 4 years while taking pre-reqs and applying to schools. It kind of seems that in EM you can make as much money as you want. Is this true or is there a catch or multiple catches that I am missing?

*********Also, I didn't try to get into this field solely for the money but I will owe approximately 160,000 dollars when it is all said and done and it would be nice to pay down that debt down sooner rather than later.

yes, there is good money to be made in em, both as base salary and with overtime, but don't kill yourself. take the long view. do something you enjoy.

100-120k right out of school is not uncommon now  you can make a lot in overtime. I know several folks making north of 200k, but that is a lot of work....

Recalculate without the time and a half. As a PA you will be subject to "exempt" status. What this means is-- no overtime pay (straight time only). This is not across the board, but is very common in medicine. But either way, yes- you can make a lot o money with extra shifts. Another option is picking up extra shifts with a prn position. Since these positions do not give benefits, they are often paying something like $80/hr instead of the $55 you mentioned.