South College 2018 Start

• Replies 194
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello all! I am one of the unlucky re-applicants that will be reapplying to this program for the 2018 January start. Even though I need to reapply, I am not discouraged :) So, who all is applying to this program?

I'm applying for the 2018 cycle, I didn't know they had a start date of January 2018 I thought it was fall?

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Hi guys! I'm a current student, willing to attempt to answer any and all questions. I graduate this December, so I can answer clinicals-related questions, too. :)

Hello! Do you mind sharing yorur stats and background as far as healthcare experience? Also, what do you like most about the program?

I knew I wanted to go to PA school in college, so I only worked as a nurse aide for about 5 months. My strengths on my application were my GPA, the upper-level biology courses I'd taken, and my GRE score. I'd also done quite a bit of shadowing of PAs in different specialties.

As far as what I like most about the program, I'm going to be cheesy and say the people. My classmates are incredible. The teaching staff is amazing. On a more serious note, I've been in clinicals for 6 months, and I felt 100% ready from day 1. A big part of why I chose South was that at my interview a clinical year student came and talked to us, and she said that South has a reputation in the community for really impressing preceptors with how well-prepared we are to actually function out in the clinic/hospital. And what she said was absolutely true. I couldn't believe how confident I felt day 1 of clinicals. During didactic, I had been so nervous about starting, but when I got out there, I suddenly realized much I knew.